Board of Trustees

Governance at Booth University College

The Salvation Army William and Catherine Booth University College (Booth University College) was incorporated by an act of the Legislature of the Province of Manitoba in 1983. The University College is governed by a Board of Trustees that was established in the act of incorporation and that is appointed by the Governing Council of The Salvation Army in Canada. The Board of Trustees delegates to the President responsibility for the effective achievement of the ends that are established by the Board.

Booth University College Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of Booth University College is appointed by the Governing Council of The Salvation Army in Canada and acts as an independent body with responsibility for the governance of the University College.

Policy Governance at Booth University College

Booth University College’s Board of Trustees has adopted the Carver Policy Governance ® model. Under this model, a clear line is drawn between governance and operations. The Board has responsibility for the establishment of the ends to be achieved and overall responsibility for the organization. The Board delegates to the President the achievement of the Board-established ends within the limitations established by the Board. The Board operates according to a set of policies that it adopts. Included in the Board policy is a series of “Executive Limitations” which establish boundaries for the President’s management of the University College.

More information regarding the Policy Governance model may be obtained at CarverGovernance.com

Board Members:

Chair: BGen (Ret’d) Linda Colwell (Ottawa, ON)
Vice-Chair: Colonel Edward Hill (Toronto, ON)
Secretary: Lt. Col. Brian Armstrong (Toronto, ON)
Treasurer: Lt. Col. Fred Waters (Toronto, ON)

Members at Large:

Dr. Jason Peters (Winnipeg, MB)
Mr. Dennis Shawn Way (Edmonton, AB)
Mr. Ben Lowell (Abbotsford, BC)
Ms. Carol Reimer (Winnipeg, MB)
Dr. Karynne Turner (Durham, NC USA)
Major Joanne Biggs (Winnipeg, MB)
Ms. Kathleen McDormand (Ottawa, ON)
Mr. David S. Williams (St. John’s, NL)
Lt. Col. John Murray (Toronto, ON)

Board Policy Manual